NaNoWrimo 2016 Complaints

So, this has been on my mind since October. Just a few things I want to put out there.

Holidays

I’m pretty sure the creators of NaNoWriMo took at least one super-villain laugh break when they chose November for this occasion. They picked a month with one of the busiest holidays of the season? Would December have been crazier? Absolutely, but I also know a lot of people who like to plan ahead in November. Those people probably lost their damn minds.

There is Veteran’s Day and Thanksgiving, amongst others. If I’ve missed any big ones, please forgive my ignorance (and educate me!). Anyway, I complained to anyone who would listen about the timing, but when I really thought about it, every month has its issues. Complaining just to complain.

NaNo Snobs

Before NaNo started, I was truly shocked at the amount of vitriol that started popping up. I don’t know if this is the usual, but there were tons of articles about “WHY I DON’T DO NANO” and everyone was being really high and mighty about it. What made me more angry was the people hell bent on talking people out of it. Is it fine if NaNo isn’t your thing? Of course! But the writing community is for encouragement. It’s fine to also give your honest opinion of NaNo, but to tear others out of the experience just because you don’t like it? No. Just stop.

Plotter vs. Pantser

Pantsers are going to shake their heads at me when I say this. I went into NaNoWriMo a Pantser and came out a plotter. UGH. Guys, I love the daydreaming part but the outlining part sucks. I hate it. As much as I loathed the process, it made it so much easier to write! I’m still coming to terms with this, but hey…the point I want to make is, just because it happened to me does not mean it’s the best for someone else. The other thing I saw going around before NaNo started was a bunch of people insisting that pantsers were doomed to fail. Listen to me. THAT IS NOT TRUE. Pantsing definitely works for some people. There are plenty of pantsers who win NaNo, and I know some who do it quite easily. There is not a “one size fits all process.” No. Just stop.

ANYWAY

I loved NaNoWriMo. This was my first time, so I don’t know if the things I mentioned are a regular occurrence or not. Despite all of this, once we all started, everyone was beyond encouraging. Even when I came across writers that weren’t participating, they offered to sprint and help with anything I needed. The writing community is an awesome place. My next post will be about what I loved about NaNo and what I learned from the experience.

anna

12 thoughts on “NaNoWrimo 2016 Complaints

  1. I prefer the Plantser route myself, but everyone has their own way to write, and that’s one of the nice things about NaNo, it can help you find what rhythm works best for you; otherwise, you might stretch your writing attempts out over years and never figure out what might help you most.

    I understand not wanting to do NaNo, but exactly as you said, there’s no reason to deride or put down others that want to participate just because it doesn’t work for you.

    Honestly, my personal biggest problem with NaNo is accepted notion to just get the words down and edit them later. I completely understand WHY, and it makes sense, but that just never worked for me. I cannot abide atrocious writing, even if I’m going to “fix” it later, because in my view, why not just use the time to write it right in the first place? Editing later of course, to make it the best possible, but I can’t scribble down bits and pieces of “less than” and just move on. But I’m in the minority there.

    Congratulations on your first NaNo! Think you will join in again next year? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m with you on the plantsing. I can’t go too far with my outlines, it drives me batty!

      I used to be the edit as you go type, but I always lost momentum and motivation that way. I have started getting the words down without editing, but I’m not looking forward to the mess afterward–even if I do love editing 😉

      You do you! I think that there are always exceptions and like I said, no process is one size fits all. I’m glad editing as you go works for you and that you know what works for you, period.

      I would love to do NaNo again! I guess it just depends on if I’m ready or not. Thanks for stopping by to comment, dear 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I did Camp NaNo and found it a brilliant experience. I set my own goal at 30k and smashed it. Like you said, November is a busy time. I didn’t participate this year because I knew I would never have hit 50k due to planning my daughter 6th birthday party.

    The ‘Why I Don’t Do NaNo’ posts get on my nerves too. I love the camaraderie and the motivation. I will aim for NaNo next year, but again, it might just be Camp NaNo for me. Perhaps I’ll see you there. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I had never heard of NaNo until this year, but it sounds intense. But I can see the limited amount of time due to the busy time of year maybe lighting an extra fire under some, giving them more motivation to finish.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Very true! I would love to commit to it next year. I struggle with writing consistently for very long stretches because it starts to get really uncomfortable. But they say there’s no real growth without discomfort so… yeah!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

