CampNaNo & Other Writing Challenges

CNW_Winner_1500-1

Oh, hi there. I guess I disappeared off of the face of the planet to dig in and focus on writing. Here are a few of the things that I’ve been up to:

#writechain

If you go to this link, you can check out this awesome challenge. #writechain is a challenge created by Faye Kirwin that has you pick a word count and stick to it every day in hopes of creating a writing habit. I challenged myself to write 200 words every day. Guess what? I failed. Ha! But before I failed, I made it to about twenty-four days straight of writing. I was both very proud and very disappointed.

Honestly? I gave up after that. I was a bit overwhelmed with some personal things and decided it was the wrong time to put that much pressure on myself. Despite that, I think that this challenge helped me tremendously. I connected with other writers doing the same challenge and continued to feel encouraged afterward. I love to see my Twitter friends post that they’re still going strong. I enjoyed it a great deal and you know what? I’m now on day forty-three of writing every day. I call that a win.

Instagram Book Challenge

In June, I specifically looked up any writing or book-related challenges I could find so that I could fill my Instagram with pictures and connect with more people there. I found a nice, simple book challenge that looked like fun. Yes, well, I failed miserably. I think I posted three or four pictures with days missing in-between. I have really warmed up to Instagram, but it’s becoming clear that I don’t have the knack for it that all of these other “bookstagrammers” do. I’ll leave it to them from now on, and continue to post sparsely and chaotically. It’s how I do.

You can find my pathetic little corner of Instagram here if you’re into that sort of thing.

CampNaNoWriMo

For those of you who don’t know, CampNaNo is a challenge leading up to the big NaNoWriMo in November. I picked a 20,000 word count goal for the novel I’ve been writing since the beginning of March. Unlike the other two challenges I took on, this time I won.

I believe that a big reason I made it to my goal is because Camp is developed in a way that gives you accountability partners. I grew up writing with my best friend, and we would write stories almost every day, always harassing each other to update. Camp works in a similar way. There are “cabins” that you can either join randomly or create privately. I shared a cabin with some people I know (Vicki, Amy, Kathy, Michelle, and Sarah) and some people that were complete strangers. In the past, despite always having one person to come to about writing, I was always a bit of a “loner writer.” Camp changed that.

I learned a lot from these people. Seeing everyone’s writing count go up created drive and pride instead of jealousy and resentment. We cheered each other on and helped each other when we were stuck. We shared in an experience that I had previously only seen at its surface value. I felt so empowered when I met my word count and I thought that I would be relieved and want a break–I did NOT! I am OBSESSED with NaNo now. I have fallen in love with this level of writing challenges. I wish NaNo was every month.

By the way, I did end up taking a break anyway. Turns out writing about paranormal stuff every day creates vivid nightmares. So, in the meantime, I’m writing some non-publishable embarrassments as well as stepping out of my comfort zone with poetry and short stories.

Have you participated in any writing challenges lately? What are you working on?

 

7 thoughts on “CampNaNo & Other Writing Challenges

  1. Thanks for sharing and I enjoyed looking through your InstaGrams.Love you,Grandma

    From: Candace Kuhn To: camille5222@yahoo.com Sent: Thursday, August 11, 2016 1:29 PM Subject: [New post] CampNaNo & Other Writing Challenges #yiv5900886881 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv5900886881 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv5900886881 a.yiv5900886881primaryactionlink:link, #yiv5900886881 a.yiv5900886881primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv5900886881 a.yiv5900886881primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv5900886881 a.yiv5900886881primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv5900886881 WordPress.com | Candace K posted: “Oh, hi there. I guess I disappeared off of the face of the planet to dig in and focus on writing. Here are a few of the things that I’ve been up to:#writechainIf you go to this link, you can check out this awesome challenge. #writechain is a challen” | |

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh no, sorry to hear that you’re getting nightmares from all the paranormal writing! I can’t say that my dreams are nearly half as vivid, but I can definitely imagine some of the darker stuff getting really spooky and disturbing. Hope the imagination settles down soon. Nothing wrong with writing “unpublishable” stuff — in a sense, it’s really quite relaxing since your mind goes into “informal” mode. Professional writing is definitely very stressful.

    I always fail at those Instagram tags! And blogging tags too, really. I’ve kept up on the #writechain (need to count my days on my habit tracker!), thankfully, but Instagram and etc.? Not so much. Camp is such an awesome way to connect with writers. Will you being doing Nanowrimo this November, too?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Things are starting to settle. I’ll probably give it another week or so before I start up again though. It is nice to relax and write other things. I mean, hey! Look, a blog post, right? Haven’t had time for that in months.

      I’m definitely still learning with the tags. It’s kind of ridiculous. I’ve decided not to take Instagram too seriously. I have Twitter for that and writing to focus on! I’m glad you’ve been able to keep up with #writechain! I try to cheer you all on whenever I can.

      I am planning on NaNo in November and I’m so excited! My username on there is CandyKaBOOM if you’d like to find and friend me. I was thinking about hosting sprints once a week as well. Can I ask what you’ll be writing about?

      Like

  3. I know exactly what you mean about the Instagram challenges, as well as starting a writing goal and only following through with it for so long. Life throws all kinds of curve balls at us to keep us from doing what it really is that we want to do. Last night, right before I went to bed, I thought to myself that I couldn’t wait to wake up, get the day over with, so I can come home from work and write. Mind you, it’s been weeks, maybe even a month since I’ve had that feeling. I’m cheering you and your writing goals on from Louisiana!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much for your constant encouragement, it is really helpful. I’m cheering you on as well! Hope you’re doing okay in Louisiana right now? Give me a shout soon, I’ll be praying for you and yours.

      Like

Leave a Reply

