5 Minute Prompt

5 Minute Prompt

It’s been a while. Things have been busy and I’ve been attempting to get organized. Here is a little something I wrote when I had writer’s block about three weeks ago. I’m happy to say it helped immensely. I grabbed a prompt off of Pinterest and used it as a five minute prompt.

I am either going out for ice cream, or to commit a heinous crime. I’ll decide in the car.

Because that’s what happens when your trust has been betrayed, right? You either find the most delicious and fattening “food” to eat your feelings with, or you think of the most delectable form of revenge–considering the form of betrayal, of course.

Damage done in the morning tends to come in the form of donuts or proximity object throwing. You would think that upon waking, less damage would be done at this time. Think about it harder. Donuts, scones, pancakes, cream cheese, bacon…pick your poison. Then there are the groggy impulse reactions. Chucking pillows will get you laughed at but just think of the damage you can do if you have a cup of coffee in your hands. The possible burns alone are bad enough, but those large ceramic mugs can do their own damage. Not that I would know. Don’t tell me you haven’t thought about it.

Lunchtime opens a lot of options. By now, you can pound down as many carbs as your body can take, as well as dive into dessert options. Sodas and candy burst forth at the buttons. If there is an aversion to food, this can be just as dangerous. Ever piss off someone who hasn’t eaten since breakfast? I don’t care if they went on their bacon-donut binge, by lunchtime, most people start getting a little hangry. Never mind causing turmoil while a person is making their food. Do you want to get stabbed with a frigging fork?

None of these options seem too pleasant, but my advice is to stay away from anything dramatically tragic come later in the evening. When the sun starts going down, all bets are off. Everything will seem serene enough. Why not have a beer or two to calm down? It’s 5 o’clock, so that’s completely acceptable. Even though they’ve messed up, you’re nice and quiet. Only, you’re secretly plotting their demise. The more quiet you are, the more relenting, the more fear should take hold of them. You have from before dinner until dusk to binge on whatever vice you choose, which will most likely only fuel the fire. Then you have the rest of the night to either continue on your path or take more drastic measures.

Not that I’ve ever gone this far. Like I said, pick your poison. Did someone betray you? What will it be? Revenge is a dish best served cold, right? Would you like two scoops or three?

 


 

Do you ever do five minute prompts? Do they help you with your writing? Tell me about it!

7 thoughts on “5 Minute Prompt

    • Hi Dale! They’re certainly not for everyone. And I have the same problem…my writing is an absolute mess when I’m timed. That’s what editing is for! I also make sure to never time myself when I’m writing a novel. These small prompts are basically just exercise and getting words down.

      Like

    • Thank you! I usually use them if I’m feeling “blocked” or if my brain is just feeling too full. It helps to get all of the junk out so you can be at your best going into your WIP. Let me know if you end up trying! And I would love to read one if you’d like to share.

      Like

  1. Great writing!

    I’ve never done a 5 minute prompt, but I see the good in it. I know I struggle with expressing myself clearly and sometimes, minutes will go by where I’m thinking of just how to say something… So for my own practice, the 5 minute prompt sounds like a good thing.

    But then again, I journal all the time, and I still struggle with communication. Doh!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aw, thanks! It took me a LONG time to let go and free-write. I used to be obsessed with every line before I wrote it. That’s good sometimes, but not much gets done that way. I hope you give them a try sometime and they help you out.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

