Love of Stories

Hello again! I am going to level with you all today…I am obsessed with stories.

I often go through phases of binging on different kinds of storytelling. When I was a lot younger, I voraciously went through every book I could get my hands on. When I got a television in my room at 16? I stalked the TV guide for anything even remotely interesting, and I don’t remember much outside of this for a good two weeks. When I had full access to the internet? I found the wonders of fanfiction and angsty poetry. RPG video games have been a newer fixation. I stay away from them as much as possible, though. So addicting!

When none of this satisfied me, I would create my own stories! Haphazardly with absolutely no direction, I would write short stories, fanfiction, scripts, journal posts, character profiles, and on and on…

giphy (1).gif

via Giphy

When I’m not able to do this–which is most of the time–I stare off into space and daydream about stories. My favorite pastime, to be honest.

Stories Inspire Me

When I get a case of writer’s block, it is never a complete loss for me. Who doesn’t love an excuse to watch way too many episodes of their favorite guilty pleasure? It’s more like a learning experience than a stall point. Sometimes I’m able to push myself and just write through it, but most of the time I have to look for inspiration elsewhere.

My WIP novel is a dark series about two sisters with strange gifts taking on paranormal and supernatural beasts. Even when I’m on a roll, I sometimes need a break because of how heavy the story can get. When there’s a writing rut, and I’m actively looking for a way out, I immerse myself in related stories.

My Favorites

When I’m at a standstill with research, when I can’t find anything ghastly and gross enough on Pinterest: I turn on the television. Sometimes I will grab a book, but I’m trying to get better at finishing the ones I start first! These are examples of stories that tend to play on repeat in this household:

TV Shows: Salem, Supernatural, American Horror Story, The Walking Dead, Hannibal, Sense8, Constantine

Movies: Constantine, Fallen, Pan’s Labyrinth, 13 Ghosts, Practical Magic

Books: Angel Sanctuary by Kaori Yuki, Stiff by Mary Roach, Frankenstein by Mary Shelley, Young Goodman Brown by Nathaniel Hawthorne

Also, all of the 3-star gruesome documentaries!

giphy.gif

via Giphy

Some of these aren’t even in my genre, but some of their themes and characterizations are beautiful. Okay, I know that some of these are horrible, but they do get the plot bunnies hopping!

What Stories Inspire You?

I know that it’s best to get out for some fresh air and new scenery, but admit it…what have you been Netflix binging? What stories get you excited to write again? For those of you who don’t write, what stories have you found to be generally inspiring?

Do you have any suggestions for me? I am always looking for stories related to my genre!

4 thoughts on “Love of Stories

  1. Honestly, I don’t watch tv. I used to, but with all these books and such just sitting there waiting to be read, I don’t have the time to get sucked into a television series! That being said, I did binge on Fringe back in the day and it really got me in the mood for scifi and epic plotting.

    I’ve two young ones so they watch a lot of Netflix, and every once in a while they’ll put on a Miyazaki movie from my younger days, and after I wipe my eyes of secret tears, I feel so inspired to write. The music, the story, the artwork… if you don’t mind anime, I really recommend checking out some of the films! Kiki’s Delivery Service, Howl’s Moving Castle, Spirited Away to name my top favorites. They aren’t dark, but they do get me emotionally every time.

    Love Pan’s Labyrinth! What Dreams May Come is great (*sob*) and though it’s a little corny, check out “The Prophet” with Christopher Walken (he plays a twisted version of the Archangel Gabriel). I was surprised to find that the story was not half bad.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I didn’t watch TV for the longest time in my late teens and early twenties, but then I discovered Doctor Who and things spiraled down from there!

      I haven’t watched a lot of anime, but I have liked a lot of what I’ve seen. I remember watching Princess Mononoke in high school and I grew up obsessed with Sailor Moon. The ones you mentioned have caught my curiosity before, so now I’m going to have to look them up soon. Thank you for the suggestions!

      You mean “The Prophecy,” right? It’s pretty funny you mentioned that movie, because it’s one of the ones I forgot to put on my list! Corny? Yes. I have watched it several times though, and I absolutely loved it. So dark!

      Liked by 2 people

      • Princess Mononoke is one of Miyazaki’s films! Though rather different from his usual style. I missed out on the whole Sailor Moon era, but there’s so many out there now, you could spend a lifetime watching them and still not get to all of them.

        That’s so awesome that you’ve seen The Prophecy! Yes, that’s what I’d meant o: It was a fun one and I really enjoyed the story. The sequels, not so much. I know I’ve seen other dark films, but I can’t think of anymore at the moment.

        I wish they’d make more movies with angels and demons! Book wise, I’ve read This Present Darkness which is about a fourth dimension on earth where angels and demons fight over humanity. It’s a Christian novel by Frank Perreti if you don’t mind that sort of thing, but I recall it being most interesting. I recommend it!

        Liked by 2 people

  2. Growing up I was once told to stop reading and go outside and play. Granted I liked to own books, and as soon as I finished one I would inevitably beg and bug my mother to buy me another.
    Still makes me smile to think how funny it is to imagine a parent telling their child to read less.

    Over time I actually started craving specific stories. For example, I’d often notice how certain characters were inevitably relegated to secondary or tertiary roles, and I started to wonder if a story could be told from their perspective.
    Of course now I’m much better at hunting down stories that fit my particular taste, but at the time I grew so frustrated that I decided “You know what, I’ll write it myself.”
    It wasn’t very good, but the experience really opened my eyes to the possibilities.

    I don’t know if my taste in stories would appeal to you, but I’m happy to share.
    Books include the Dune series, Mistborn, Neil Gaiman’s Sandman, a manga called Pet Shop of Horrors, Wind in the Willows, and the KingKiller Chronicles
    Movies include Pan’s Labyrinth, The Incredibles, Lost in Translation, The Prestige, The Thing, Alien, Clue, and Princess Mononoke.
    TV shows include Rick & Morty, Legion, Gravity Falls, Horrible Histories (UK), and Misfits (UK).
    Anime include Kino’s Journey, Mushishi, Ghost in the Shell, Cardcaptor Sakura, Vision of Escalfowne, and Serial Experiments Lain.

    Like

Leave a Reply

